101littledragons

a lifestyle blog about living in Asia

4. Do the Accent Tag Test

G’day Mate, Hows it goooiiinnn?

I love travelling. And, I absolutely LOVE meeting people from around the globe and trying to imitate their fabulous accents… (yes, I’m one of those annoying people – we should form a club?!)… As an Australian, my accent has always been a source of entertainment to the foreigners I’ve met. Particularly, my floor mates in residence (in Canada) would always point out how I ‘say things in a funny way’.

I’ve now come to the conclusion that my accent is not the only source of amusement for my international friends… It is the aussie slang that ever so naturally rolls off the tongue… words I don’t even realise are ‘Australian’… for example, ‘out in whoop whoop’… ‘bottle-o’… ‘feral’… etc

One of my new friends kindly pointed out to me that he often has to look up Urban Dictionary to understand what I’m on about… He is convinced I’m speaking a different language. The accent doesn’t help. Accordingly, he suggested a tag test to prove that I ‘say things in a funny way’.

My friend= a HongKonger, who was raised in Canada and lived there for approx 15 years of his life… and now based in HK.

Me= an Australian… Melburnian, through and through, raised and educated in Aus… and now based in HK.

The test

Gather two or more people with different accents/from different places in the world and ask them to say the following:

Garage

herb

schedule

figure

jaguar

lieutenant

water

advertisement

vase

route

tomato

leisure

address

ate

buoy

aluminum

aunt

wash

oil

theater

iron

salmon

caramel

fire

sure

data

ruin

crayon

toilet

pecan

boat

again

probably

spitting

image

coupon

syrup

pajamas

caught

Small things like this make me laugh. I definitely think that you should try this with your international friends. Of course there are many many more words that could be added to the list – are there any obvious ones that come to mind? Please share!

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “4. Do the Accent Tag Test

  1. Very interesting details you have remarked, thank you for putting up.

  2. aluminum? You’ve already been converted! 😛

Leave a Reply

