101littledragons

a lifestyle blog about living in Asia

Observations from my cup of coffee

Image

Prime-time street viewing – sitting on a couch next to the windows that peer out onto Queens Road East, I watched and pondered for 3 hours. Sipping my Starbucks caramel macchiato and nibbling on a croque monsieur, I observed the following:

  1. A pedestrian got hit by a (slow) moving van as he crossed the street. I have seen so many near encounters but never actually imagined that cars wouldn’t slow down for pedestrians! In my world, ‘pedestrians have right of way.’ That rule doesn’t exist in HK. Look left and right – and whatever you do, don’t bother trying to cross in front of a car, even if it is slowly approaching and there are a number of pedestrians around you.
  2. A big black butterfly, the size of my palm, fell to the ground and lay on the pavement – its deathbed. I always notice bugs and insects – however, I’m always inclined to think they are giant cockroaches… I was pleasantly surprised to see a butterfly, and then equally as disappointed as I watched it flap its gentle wings, hoping that no one would trample it.
  3. A dog wearing shoes. Admittedly, every time I see an animal dressed up in clothing I laugh. This was particularly funny because the owner was taking the dog for a walk – it wasn’t in a home setting. Cute shoes, too.

Watching the people of Hong Kong… an endless source of amusement. 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Observations from my cup of coffee

  1. Fleech on said:

    Late in the night here. Can’t doze off so I’ve just logged on to read your latest post. Love this. Who needs TV, right!? It’s fun to sit and observe once in a while. P.S. Caramel Macchiato…yum.

  2. haha very true – there is just so much going on ALL the time! nice little break! Goodnight! 🙂 x

  3. Wonderful post! Have you ever been to India? I can’t imagine a more frightening place for a pedestrian to cross the street–maybe it has to do with that “left hand side” thing….

    • Thank you 🙂

      No, unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to make it over to India – high on my list though! And, from all the stories, I am sure HK roads do not even compare in terms of fear factor 😛 Although, I’ve gotta say, I think I’m ‘mentally’ prepared in regards to my future road crossing endeavours in India – I have an expectation of traffic chaos! (sometimes it all comes down to expectation?)

      Thanks again and best wishes!! I look forward to your comments 🙂

  4. Hi. It seems there are many cities in the world that follow the chaos theory example, where even crossing at the cross walk requires a “cross run”. I’m sure you’ll enjoy this Saigon time lapse! http://raxacollective.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/going-with-the-flow/

Leave a Reply

